University Sumatera Utara, Medan

The history of the North Sumatra University (USU) began with the establishment of the North Sumatra University Foundation on 4 June 1952. The foundation was pioneered by the Governor of North Sumatra to fulfill the wishes of the North Sumatra community in particular and the general Indonesian community.


The USU Faculty of Medicine was built on August 20, 1952.

Vision: To make USU’s Faculty of Medicine as a leading institution of medical education as well as a center of excellence in the field of tropical medicine and malignant diseases (oncology) in Indonesia .


The Faculty of Dentistry of North Sumatera University (FKG USU) was built on November 3, 1961. The Faculty of Dentistry USU has ten departments namely Orthodontic, Prosthodontics, Oral Surgery, Dental Conservation, Periodontics, Oral Diseases, Dental, Biological Oral, Dental Material and Technology, Preventive Dentistry/Community Dentistry and the Dental Radiology Unit. In addition,  several of Technical Implementation Units (UPTs) has been formed in order to carry out several activities.

Vision: To make the Dental Faculty of North Sumatera University as the National and regional choice Dental Faculty in producing graduates with global competitiveness and entrepreneurship vision.


 The Department of Pharmacy in the USU environment was opened in 1969 under the auspices of the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences (FMIPA) USU based on the fact that Pharmaceuticals are very much needed in Sumatra, whereas for the Sumatra area there is only one Pharmacy majoring at University Andalas Padang, West Sumatra.

Vision: To become one of the Top Educational Institutions of Pharmacy in Indonesia in 2020.



  • Have STPM / Foundation / Matriculation / Diploma.·
  • Minimum CGPA 3.00 (If your CGPA is below 3.00, please contact Daulah).·
  • Compulsory to take the subject of BIOLOGY, CHEMICAL & PHYSICAL in SPM.


  • Medicine – 5 years·
  • Dentistry – 5 years·
  • Pharmacy – 4 years